Just over fifty pages of one book has proven to me that I absolutely never ever have anything to complain about in my life.

As mentioned before, I have committed to the 1am-2am slot every Friday night/Saturday morning at adoration for Lent.  I had thought about skipping the other night because I had to go to work at six the next morning, but I played the card of, “No, I made a commitment so I guess I’ll go even though I don’t like it.”  I decided that I would bring my own book that night.  Though the time is for prayer and meditation, it’s okay to bring a book, so long as it’s spiritual and not some romance novel or something.

I’ve been meaning to read Viktor Frankl’s Man’s Search for Meaning, and I figured it would be a great book to read, especially in the quietness of our small chapel.  Little did I know how much of an effect it would have on me.

Reading about Frankl’s experiences at Auschwitz was humbling enough (I’ll spare the details), but then reading how he was actually able to rise above the psychological and emotional effects of three years at the most notorious Nazi concentration camp?  Now that’s almost beyond understanding.  Now picture in your mind how I am reading this in a small chapel in the middle of the night and you might be able to understand how moved I was.

When I got home that night/morning, I had the most comfortable three hours of sleep I ever had.  To be able to sleep on a thick pillow, with a plush comforter on me felt like a real privilege for the first time.  It might sound odd at first, but I really saw the gifts of God in my bed, pillow, and comforter.

Dan Miller says that he reads Man’s Search for Meaning about every six months to keep a healthy perspective on life.  I haven’t yet finished the book and I think that I’ll be doing it myself.  You know, my kids just won’t leave me alone as I am trying to write this blog and sure, it’s annoying me.  But you know what?  My kids are annoying me, while I have the privilege to write a blog, on my couch, in my home.  I hope you get the idea because I’m tired of hitting CTRL-I.

So if you are not enjoying life, ALL – THE – TIME, read Frankl’s book.  It gives an entirely different meaning to, “Hey, it could be worse.”

Always Enjoy Life,
Zach Ellerbrook

Blogged with the Flock Browser
