I don’t have bad days.  No really, I don’t.

First of all, how often do you rate your day?  How often do you decide whether today was good, today was not so good, or today just plain sucked?

When you do rate your day, what made it good, or what made it bad?

When I have a bad day, it’s usually because so-and-so did this, or so-and-so did that.  The weather was bad.  I was sick.  I’m sneezing and blowing my nose because it’s a water fountain and I refuse to take allergy drugs (okay, so that’s a current personal complaint).  These are things that are simply out of our control.  There’s nothing we can do about it.

Why would I ever allow something beyond my control decide whether I have a good day or not?

I have good days when I do something for someone else in abundance.  Wait, those are my best days.  I have a good day when I do something for someone else at all.  Sure, I have good days when people treat me the way I think I should  be treated, but that goes back to  the point of this blog post.  To quote an old friend of mine:

“I have good days, and days that don’t go my way.”

So if you have a “bad” day, try to decide if there was something that you could have done to make it better.  Maybe I said something to trigger this person yelling at me (I tend to have a quick tongue).  I probably would not be so upset if I had just let that person cut me off.  Those people weren’t giving me a bad day, they just weren’t behaving the way I wanted them to.

After adopting that attitude towards the external situations in my life, my number of good days has significantly increased… and I have never had a bad day.

Always Enjoy Life,
Zach Ellerbrook

Blogged with the Flock Browser
