This is love for God: to obey His commands. And His commands are not burdensome. 1 John 5:3

Do you hit your brakes every time you see a cop?  Do you ask people what you did the night before, worrying about who you might have hurt or offended because you drank way more than anyone should?  Do you tell more lies to cover up one lie?

I’m not asking these questions to call anyone out, I’m just thinking of things that people do to violate God’s commands, when following them would be a lot easier.

I used to risk my life living that way.  Instead of looking both ways before crossing the street, I would just say to myself, “They have brakes,” and just amble on across a busy street.  Sure, I thought I was having fun, doing whatever I wanted to do.  Lying to my parents about what I was up to because I was having “fun” partying all night.

The Bible verse about just really made me look back on my younger life.  I used to be afraid of the life I have today, afraid.  I thought that sitting quietly on a Friday night, writing a blog of all things, was the most boring thing I could ever do (even though there was no such thing as a blog back then).  But you know what?  I’m not looking over my shoulder anymore.  I’m not worried about my manager catching me skimming the register anymore.

I guess my life isn’t as exciting as it used to be, but it’s a lot less work, and I’m lazy.

Always Enjoy Life,
Zach Ellerbrook

Blogged with the Flock Browser
